What I Wore To Church – Heart Cut-Out Blouse

Heart cutout blouse 1 Heart cutout blouse 2Heart cutout blouse 3 Heart cutout blouse 4

 

Top: HauteLook (Sugar Hill Boutique)
CardiganModCloth Charter School Cardigan in Jade
Skirt: ThredUp (LOFT)
Shoes: ThredUp (Mojo Moxy Bettie Pump, similar)

If you read my blog frequently, you may have heard me say that a pencil skirt and blouse is my “signature look”. You may also have noticed for a signature look, I wear it very rarely. I’m realizing that 2-3 years ago I wore that combination almost every Sunday (I had maybe 8 pencil skirts in different colors, materials, and prints), but since I got pregnant, and after having the baby, I’ve had trouble buying ones that fit. You might think “well she’s wearing one today. I guess she found one that fit.” You would be wrong. While this skirt fit when I bought it about a month ago, it’s too big now. I usually like to wear my pencil skirts a little higher-waisted, but because this one was too big, I had to sit it lower on my hips, and it was still a bit big. *sigh* I guess there are worse problems to have. Now I go on the hunt for another good (low-priced) pencil skirt.

I think if I were to style this again, I probably would’ve left the blouse un-tucked and belted over the cardigan at my natural waist. Next time!

The blouse has been sitting in my closet begging to be worn since I got it for a steal off HauteLook. The heart cut out and bird print are just TOO CAYOOT for words. I purposely didn’t wear a necklace today because I didn’t want to cover up the cut out. The minty color of the cardigan brought out the same color that was very subtle in the print.

Now the shoes (THE SHOES!) were a result of perfect timing. I’d been eyeing these shoes for awhile, but wasn’t a fan of the price. Then one day I was doing my usual scrolling through ThredUp on my phone (the app is SO handy), and BAM! There they were! And for under $30! They had never even been worn. I love the cute cut outs, the scalloped trim and of course, the bows. It really helped that they were much lower than my usual heels too. I had no problem wearing them while carrying a baby around. It’s odd for me to be on the constant lookout for mid heels. A couple years ago, my motto was “the higher, the better”. Oh, how my collection has morphed.

If you’ve never shopped with ThredUp before, you can read my post about it here or just use my referral link here for $10 off.
If you’ve never shopped with HauteLook before, you can read my post about it here or just use my referral link here to take a look around.
If you’ve never shopped with ModCloth before, you’re clearly living under a rock and you should check it out immediately by using my link here for $15 off $50. This cardigan is on sale in limited sizes as well as the shoes I wore last week!

Happy Shopping!

blog-signature

Leave a comment